Follow me:

The Young Wives Club now available – an interview with author Julie Pennell


Title: The Young Wives Club
Author: Julie Pennell
Release Date: Feb 14th, 2017
Publisher: Atria Publishing
Genre: Women’s Fiction

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound | Target | Walmart | Apple | Google | Kobo


Say Hello to author Julie Pennell!

Julie Pennell grew up in Shreveport, Louisiana, where she ate her weight in crawfish, used the word “y’all” a lot, and wrote a weekly “Teen Scene” column for the local paper. After graduating from college, she moved to New York City to work at Seventeen magazine and later Alloy Entertainment as a digital editor. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and is a regular contributor to Teen Vogue, TODAY.com, and The NestThe Young Wives Club is her first novel.

Tell me what made you want to become a writer?

I used to write little stories all the time when I was a kid, and even created my own family newspaper out of construction paper and handwritten articles (pre-computer days — I was such a nerd! Haha) It was when I read my first issue of Seventeen at the age of 12 that I decided I wanted to write for magazines (which I ultimately did after college). And I’ve always had it in the back of my head I wanted to write a novel. My former coworker recently reminisced about the time that I announced to the whole staff at a meeting on my first day that my dream was to write a novel one day. I guess I was manifesting it!

What’s a hobby you have that’s got nothing to do with books?
I love to cook and try new recipes. Although, you know those Pinterest fails you see online? That’s my cooking a lot of the time. It actually inspired a character trait for one of the girls in my book. She tries so hard, but she makes little mistakes that mess up the whole dish, bless her heart. There’s a one-liner about her putting half a cup of salt instead of half a teaspoon because she read the recipe wrong, and I’m so ashamed and embarrassed to say that was inspired by a true story….

What is your favorite season?
Summer all the way! Growing up in Louisiana, I got very used to warm temperatures — give me 100-degree weather over the cold any day. Moving to New York in the winter was quite the transition. I didn’t see my first real snowfall until I was 21 years old. I still get excited about snow, don’t get me wrong, but I’d much rather be watching it while wrapped up in a blanket inside the apartment.

Tell me your favorite part of the writing process?
I think my favorite was writing the dialogue because these girls began to speak without needing any input from me. It was a very odd feeling watching these characters take over the page, but it also felt really natural. Madison, in particular, is really snarky and says things that make me blush — I guess she gets to say things I’d never say out loud.
Now the writing process you hate the most?
Revising! I got writer’s block during the middle of it and would just stare at the page for hours. I think the hardest part is just getting inside the characters’ heads. Thankfully, I had a breakthrough and was able to make my deadline, but it was a tough moment.
What type of scenes are your favorite to write?
I love writing scenes that take place somewhere fun where I can describe all the little details so the reader can feel like she’s right there. One of my favorite scenes in The Young Wives Club is when one of the couples goes to Mardi Gras in New Orleans. I could just taste the chicory coffee and beignets as I was writing it.
What’s been your favorite line in a review of one of your books?
Kirkus wrote, “Pennell’s debut novel shimmers with lively banter and the glitter of these young women’s dreams.” I just loved that they used two of my favorite words in there: shimmers and glitter!
Coffee, Wine or something else?
Oh, that’s a tough one. I have to thank coffee for getting me up in the morning and helping me power through the drafts of The Young Wives Club. But wine definitely played a part as well, helping me get through some of the harder parts (see writer’s block above!)

Thank you, Julie, for allowing me to feature you and your fabulous new release on The Young Wives Club. Your cover is absolutely stunning and I always love to know someone else is as great a chef as myself. Ha!

-Aimee

Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

No Comments

Let's Chat

%d bloggers like this: