Follow me:

    Book Review – New Attitude by Kathryn Biel


    Title: New Attitude
    Author: Kathryn Biel
    Series: A New Beginnings
    Release Date: March 13th, 2017
    Genre: chick lit

    As if it’s not bad enough that I didn’t win the reality design TV show I was on, try coming home to a one word note indicating that my ten-year marriage is over. So here I am, a suddenly single mother in my mid-thirties, doing what everyone advises me to do—have a fling. Except it doesn’t go as planned, so I do the next best thing, which is sit on the couch and mope. But having to provide for a five-year-old doesn’t let me stay home for too long. Before I know it, I’m back to dying my hair wild colors and trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.

    Except Tony, the fling that wasn’t, keeps popping up in the most unlikely places and won’t leave me alone. I’d like to be strong—I’m way too old for him—but he’s cute and funny and sexy and oh, my ex is getting married to a girl named Bambi. All I know is the way I’m doing things isn’t working. If I want to be happy again, I’m going to need to get a new attitude.

    AmazonUS | AmazonUK | AmazonAU | AmazonCA

    This is book two in the A New Begining series. Book one was told from Michelle’s point of view and this book is told from her friend Kira’s point of view. The book has that ‘fashion designer’ storyline that I love and the characters are interesting. I loved book 1 & this one, while I didn’t love it as much as the first, it’s still a great book. I read it in a matter of hours and ignored my kids until they begged to be fed.

    Kathryn is a great writer and has a great ability to make you feel like you are a part of the story. There were times I was rooting for Kira and times I hated her! lol I am pretty sure that’s how you know you’re actual friends with a fictional character.

    Continue reading…

    The Kicking the Bucket List is now available & I’ve got an excerpt.


    Title: The Kicking the Bucket List
    By author: Cathy Hopkins
    Release Date: March 9th, 2017
    Publisher: HarperCollins
    Genre: Romantic Comedy

    Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.

    At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with very tricky strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s ‘bucket list’.

    But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’s bucket list was about so much more than money…

    Continue reading…

    Today I interview author Milly Johnson & feature her new book The Queen of Wishful Thinking


    Title: The Queen of Wishful Thinking
    Author: Milly Johnson
    Release Date: March 9th, 2017
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster ltd.
    Genre: romantic comedy

    When Lewis Harley has a health scare in his early forties, he takes it as a wake-up call. So he and his wife Charlotte leave behind life in the fast lane and Lewis opens the antique shop he has dreamed of. Bonnie Brookland was brought up in the antiques trade and now works for the man who bought out her father’s business, but she isn’t happy there. So when she walks into Lew’s shop, she knows this is the place for her. As Bonnie and Lew start to work together, they soon realise that there is more to their relationship than either thought. But Bonnie is trapped in an unhappy marriage, and Lew and Charlotte have more problems than they care to admit. Each has secrets in their past which are about to be uncovered. Can they find the happiness they both deserve?

    *keep reading for a chance to win a signed copy of The Queen of Wishful Thinking from Milly Johnson!

    Continue reading…

    Today I chat with author Amy Poeppel & feature her new book Small Admissions


    Title: Small Admissions
    Author: Amy Poeppel
    Publisher: Atria
    Release Date: December 27th, 2016
    Genre: humorous women’s fiction

    One admission can change your life…forever.

    When ambitious grad student Kate Pearson’s handsome French “almost fiancé” ditches her, she definitely does not roll with the punches, despite the best efforts of family and friends. It seems that nothing will get Kate out of pajamas and back into the world.

    Miraculously, one cringe-worthy job interview leads to a position in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. Kate’s instantly thrown into a highly competitive and occasionally absurd culture, where she interviews all types of children: suitable, wildly unsuitable, charming, loathsome, ingratiating, or spoiled beyond all measure. And then there are the Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

    As Kate begins to learn there’s no room for self-pity or nonsense during the height of admissions season or life itself, her sister and friends find themselves keeping secrets, dropping bombshells, and arguing with each other about how to keep Kate on her feet. Meanwhile, Kate seems to be doing very nicely, thank you, and is even beginning to find out that her broken heart is very much on the mend. Welcome to the world of Small Admissions.

    Continue reading…

    Book Tour – Christie Barlow & her new release Evie’s Year of Taking Chances


    Title: Evie’s Year of Taking Chances
    Author: Christie Barlow
    Release Date: March 10th, 2017
    Publisher: Bookouture
    Genre: romantic comedy

    It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.

    Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books – after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

    Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother.

    Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past.

    As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken?

    A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!

    I loved this book! Obviously, I’m a reader so Libraries appeal to me. The librarian storyline in this book I absolutely loved. There is romance, mystery and likable characters. Right from the first chapter, even though you don’t immediately meet Noah or Irene or even Evie’s birth family, you bond with her and you know her goal early on.
    I did love the characters as well. One thing that was refreshing for me is how almost innocent and sweet Evie is, despite her rough childhood and past. Isn’t it amazing that with just the right person our whole lives can turn in a direction we never even thought possible? Irene is that person for Evie. It seemed so true to the whole ‘foster kid’ atmosphere as well. They are shipped from home to home, never really finding the ‘family’ they long for. A lot of kids never do, which is so sad. I was glad to see Evie find that, even though she is a fictional character I feel like many people who have been through a similar foster situation will easily bond with her.

    Continue reading…